Happy colors- Happy gal!

Woop, I finished my work-week (starting very gently with two days a week) and I’m so happy I got to return to this inclusive, supportive work-place with a really great team! I’m terribly nervous and insecure, but I’ve felt really welcomed and been handled with a lot of patience, and I’m so grateful.. ❤️

Ok so don’t come for me, but I decided to reward myself for being really brave and I got this coat I’ve drooled over for a while now.. It dropped from 699 NOK to 399- at H&M.com and sold out SO fast- but I kept checking and finally it was back in my size- SO I clicked ‘buy’. Do I have enough coats? Yeah. Do I live in a cold climate where you get good use of these coats? Also yes.. Am I good at justifying shit..? Heck yeah! 😅

 

 

 

One thing tho’: There are no pockets! I decided I was ok with that, but it is REALLY annoying, I keep searching for pockets on autopilot, like why the fuck not include that in the designing process?? It’s 2022, women NEED pockets!

 

 

This beanie is SO cool, and made with love ❤️ My mama is SO attentive whenever I say I want something but can’t find it in stores, I told her years ago that I wanted a really shock pink beanie, and she just knitted one for me in 1-2-3. I didn’t ask her, she just did it- that is SO sweet!! So naturally this one is a wardrobe-favorite 🥰 I love how it’s reminiscent of a rastafarian hat in terms of the shape.

 

 

Up close of this bag that I’ve had for -20- years and is still going strong.. It’s this shiny snake-printed material with gold deets and it looks really exclusive in my humble opinion- but it is actually a REALLY cheap bag from one of the Scandinavian budget-friendly stores (Lindex, I have found a lot of good bags from them!).

I know there is an important discussion going on regarding fast fashion and the cheap chain-stores has been getting a lot of heat (and rightfully so) but I do have to say it: Low prices does not always equal low quality, and the biggest responsibility (and with that the power to make changes!) in my opinion sits with us as consumers. We owe it to the planet to keep our things for as long as possible.

 

Do I feel bad at times for my love of style? Yes. Do I own more clothes than I need? YES. But do my stuff get used and loved? Absolutely. If something needs to be repaired, I take care of it- I do not throw it away and replace it with something new. But can I do better, as a responsible consumer..? Of course. That is one of the reasons I wanted to experiment with this ‘personal style’- category on my blog, to really reflect over my own shopping habits, have full control over what I already own, keep track over how I buy, that it is a mix of just not new but also vintage/secondhand/hand-me-downs-items.. To be more aware and explore what style really means to me, if I can justify having this as a hobby, etc.. Just my own little project.

 

It is NOT to flaunt or flex, I want to be completely transparent on the fact that I’ve never had a big budget, that I had to save up for some things, buy them used, and that my main thing is that I am just very sure of what I like and that is the main catalyst for my style. I like styling because it is FUN, and it is fun because there are no rules- at least not in my head 😁 I want to promote individuality, I think a fashion industry that is not so ruled by this concept of always coming up with and copying new trends every hot minute but rather focused (and that goes from all parts of the chain- low to high end) on making pieces you can love a life-time and then it gets passed on- well, that would be quite the dream. That is my ideal, at least.

 

Anyway, speaking of long-lasting quality pieces that was DIRT cheap: This ring from China, I paid not even a full dollar for it.. I’ve had it for over ten years, and the quality and craftmabship is SO good- I was blown away. I personally think this is so prettier than the clunky leopard-ring from Cartier (sorry! No offense) and obviously this is not real gold or gemstones, but expensive jewellery has never really been my thing (and obviously I’ve never had the budget for it either). I have a collection of these animal-rings, and all of them are even after a decade still immaculate.

 

 

Now I’m gonna force my lazy ass to do a 10-minute work-out.. I HAVE to do something in order to get in better shape, but it is SO hard and I’ve just decided to start super slow and a little IS better than nothing at all, right? 😅

 

 

 

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg