No longer a slave to fear

Okay, so these jeans are designer- John Galliano, and one of his signature-creations is the ‘newspaper’ print. My family helps running a second-hand store and I was there as a helping hand: I was SO intrigued when I stumbled across this pair: in a second-hand store in a tiny town in north of Norway- you really never know when or where you’ll strike gold when looking through second-hand, and that’s what makes it so fun!

 

First: I NEVER thought I’d fit any designer jeans- I have junk in all trunks 😂 But they fit perfectly! Second: The price was 30 NOK.. That’s INSANE, and I had to say it: These pants are worth A LOT more, and I am willing to pay a lot more.. But when I had argued the price up to 100 NOK the saleswoman (who also happens to be my favorite aunt ❤️) wouldn’t accept any higher bids so.. 🤷‍♀️

 

 

 

The top is handed down to me from a relative with a really good sense of style. Growing up in the 90’ies/early 2000’s my mom’s cousin would drop by huge bags of old clothes from her two daughters, and it would usually be a lot of neutral colors and very timeless, preppy, classic pieces- that I still have and use today. (That was SO nice of them, by the way- we didn’t have much money growing up, my mum being a single-mum of four kids..❤️)

 

 

This style of bracelet is called a ‘slave-bracelet’ and it’s typically a cuff around your wrist linked to rings on your fingers. This I found vintage, I think it could possibly be an antique even (but I’m no expert!) and I got it really cheap.

 

 

 

 

These gloves I found secondhand on Ebay, from Kenzo’s collab with H&M. Bag is from Kapp Ahl.

 

 

This hat used to belong to my sister, but I would always borrow it when I started struggling with anxiety in my teens- I felt like I could hide in this and avoid eye contact- I kinda depended on it to go outside at my worst of times- so my sister, the angel she is let me have it. I’ll never let go of this! It was such a big help for me at my lowest points, it gave me some freedom when I felt trapped inside my own head, limited by fear. And maybe that sounds dumb, but honestly- Crippling anxiety can feel like living behind bars. It can stop you from going out the door. I lived in that prison for years. Would not wish that shit on anyone..

 

I know that anxiety is a VERY hard enemy to get rid off, and I know it can return, hit me in the face full force again, but damn I work very hard each day to feel a sense of freedom, to feel brave, to take back the life this thief of joy took from me, and I will admit that I was a slave to it at times and I let it take too much control over me- but I am fighting very hard to take back the power to live my life by my own design. «A king in my own mind», as In Flames put it in the song ‘The quiet place’.

 

Wish you a good day 🌹 I had a therapy session today, and other than that: No plans! I don’t really know what to do either, I think I’ll have a creative session and finish some songs/poems I’ve been playing with for a while now.

 

Oh and I need to listen to In Flames 😁

 

 

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg