Personal style

I think I was about 8 years old when I started taking an interest in style. My best friend got these stunning pair of pants, and I still remember to a T what they looked like. They were in this silky, satin like material, deep blue with a gorgeous pattern of white flowers on them. I begged her to let me have them once she was fed up with them (I never got them, lol). I’ll admit even now as an adult and in my thirties, I’m still looking for pants like that. If I like something, I’ll probably love it forever. I am that way with most things in life, not just clothes and accessories. Music, food, people, places.. My taste tends to stay pretty consistent.

 

When I was old enough to pick out my own clothes, I was very much insecure. I would always bring someone with me when shopping, because I needed a second opinion, and that mattered more than my own. I was really scared of those special pieces that will make you noticed, and usually just wore very basic stuff in grey or black. But one day I found this beautiful suede leather jacket, it was tan in color and fitted much like a blazer, and I didn’t know anyone in school who had anything like that, it wasn’t a trend so it was definitely not a safe buy- but I wanted it so bad and so my mum got it for me eventually.. But I was so bullied for it! Still, I stuck to it for years until I couldn’t squeeze myself into it anymore. By then leather jackets was a huge trend, and I kept thinking if it just still would fit it would finally have its moment, hah. Well, it taught me to be brave and true to myself at least. Trends come and go and then makes a comeback again, so even those who are completely out of fashion will probably at one point be on trend again 😉

 

I am not a fan of trends, or things being in or out of style. I think if fashion is supposed to be any fun, then everything should be allowed always. For me, personal style is trusting my own eye and my own instincts above all else, no matter what anyone else is trying to dictate through whatever is trending at the moment. For me, personal style is just that, PERSONAL, it’s wearing what you love and what you feel comfortable in, investing in pieces that you will love for a long time and not feeling the need or being pressure into updating your wardrobe completely every other season. It’s about finding those key pieces that you almost feel like were made for you personally. It’s about being able to visualize something in your head rather than flip through Vogue, and then search for it on ebay or secondhand, or if you know how to- make it yourself. Finding inspiration anytime, anywhere. Dreaming up something you haven’t seen designed yet. To just shrug when someone is dissing you for what you’re wearing, and tell yourself «Whatever, like it!»It’s  about trusting your own taste and being confident enough to rock it.

 

You do not need a fat bank account to have great style or to attain quality things. It’s all about knowing where and what to look for. I love treasure hunting in vintage/secondhandstores or just search for used items on ebay. I have done some serious steals this way! Also just a tip, but I always check the sales racks at stores first- that’s usually where a lot of the most interesting pieces who’s “not for everybody” are hanging.

 

I think I love playing around with style and makeup, because that’s what it is: Just playing. Style is and should not be taken too seriously! It reminds me of being a kid again, getting creative and finding new ways to have fun with stuff you already own- kinda like those trusted toys when I was a kid. I really want to promote having a strong sense of identity in the way you dress, because that way fast fashion can’t push as much new stuff on you and its better for your economy, better for the planet..

 

When I buy something, I always imagine myself as an old lady- if this thing still lasts by then, would I wear it? And it’s usually a “yes”.

 

 

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg