To the child I used to be

To the child I used to be- I’m not doing it against you. I’m doing it for me.

 

 

 

I get it, why you think I’m cold

I was once this damaged child, and now I guess I am too old

But I am still working through the wires in my head

And there’s still so many versions of whatever may be false, may be truth

That I have yet to unfold

 

I tried to make myself clear

I’m sorry that, sorry that..

It wasn’t what you’d like to hear

And my heart, my heart do care

But my own voice, in my own mind

Oh you gotta understand!

I couldn’t let that voice just disappear

 

I turned it off when I was a child

That’s what, that’s what they wanted

My mama used to say «You’re too wild’

My teacher said «You are too quiet»

Then I got dumped by my only friend

She said «We always argue»

And there was this wicked, wicked man

He said «You never speak of this again»

 

I could never understand

All I knew, was I was wrong

I could never comprehend

What to do, to just belong

 

I tried to make myself clear

I’m sorry that, sorry that..

It wasn’t what you’d like to hear

And my heart, my heart do care

But my own voice, in my own mind

I can’t and I won’t

Tell that voice to just disappear

 

I’m good at giving what you want

I’m too damn good

To the point where it does not feel good for me anymore

I accept, I see, I listen, I don’t complain

I never ask you to return the same

But then I start to burn with shame

You don’t get it

But I have to face myself in the mirror

And the child I used to be yell at me

»THIS IS NOT WHAT I ALMOST DIED FOR»

And Yeah, guess I cared for you

But I care for her, oh so much more

I care for the child I used to be, so much more!

 

So here they are, the last words I coulda told ya’

If you knew I write lyrics and post them here

Or sing ‘em in the shower

But you don’t really know me, huh

Funny how I know your lifestory in full, huh

Well, it doesn’t matter

The chapter is closed

And I’m a little closer

To the child I used to be

The child I used to swear

That I one day would set free

And now I see

She’s the one

She’s the one

Doing it for me

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg